Loreto College is the Ballarat Associated Schools (BAS) Head of the Lake champion and State Champions for the first time! The Girls Open 1sts crew, coached by Mr Barry Halsall, lived up to pre-race favouritism to perform strongly for the win on Sunday 26 February, 2017 in the Head of the Lake. The maiden win caps off a celebration of ten years of rowing at Loreto within BAS. After initially winning the race, St Patricks College was finally awarded the Boys Open 1sts Head of the Lake Champions after a contentious re-run of the race on Wednesday 28 February,2017.

Loreto then went on to take out the Division 1 U21 & State titles at Nagambie. Division 2 and 3 also won State titles.

Loreto College and St Patricks College were also the dominant schools overall at head of the Lake, with Loreto taking out the girls aggregate and St Pats taking out the boys aggregate trophies. The trophy was proudly accepted on behalf of the Loreto Rowing Team by Rowing Captains – Portia Haase and Grace Hoffman

Loreto College crews performed extremely well throughout the entire day and the Loreto Spit Crew were commended for their phenomenal spirit and support, both in the lead up to the event and on the day. Loreto Rowing is set for a strong future with some outstanding depth within the younger crews, headed by Rowing Coordinator Mr Nathan Sims and a team of amazing volunteer coaches. Every rowing crew at junior, intermediate, senior and open is supported by a volunteer coach, who are also credited with the success of the overall Loreto rowing team.

Loreto Open 1sts crew and 2017 Head of the Lake winning team are: Madelyn Rothe (coxwain) Grace Hoffman, Ella Higgins, Laura Foley and Molly Grech, coached by Barry Halsall.

More pictures in the Past Events Gallery: https://loreto.vic.edu.au/events-publications-media/past-events/